Connect with us


National Society of Film Critics Voting Underway



The National Society of Film Critics selects their top film achievements in the group’s 57th annual vote Saturday.

Among the 2023 winners announced early in the process were Cate Blanchett, named best actress for her titular role in Tárand Colin Farrell, who prevailed as best actor for his performances in After Yang and The Banshees of Inisherin. Kerry Condon, chosen as best supporting actress, was another winner for The Banshees of Inisherin.

The group will select winners in the following categories: picture, director, actor, actress, supporting actor, supporting actress, screenplay and cinematography. Prizes may also be awarded for film not in the English language, nonfiction film, production design and film heritage.

Last year, the group’s selection for best picture was director Ryusuke Hamaguchi’s Drive My Car, which went on to win the Oscar for best international feature film. Among the organization’s other notable picks from 2021 releases, Drive My Car’s Hidetoshi Nishijima won for best actor, while Parallel Mothers’ Penélope Cruz was chosen as best actress.

Winners will be announced Saturday via the National Society of Film Critics’ official Twitter account, which can be viewed here. The winners list will be updated below.

Best actor: Colin Farrell, After Yang and The Banshees of Inisherin
Runners-up: Paul Mescal, Aftersun
Bill Nighy, Living

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, Tár
Runners-up: Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Tilda Swinton, The Eternal Daughterand Michelle Williams, The Fabelmans

Best Supporting Actress: Kerry Condon, The Banshees of Inisherin
Runners-up: Nina Hoss, Tár
Dolly de Leon, Triangle of Sadness

Best Cinematography: Michał Dymek, EO
Runners-up: Hoyte van Hoytema, Nope
Kim Ji-yong, Decision to Leave

More to come.

Check the latest Hollywood news here.