Connect with us


Nepal: Prime Minister Deuba’s ruling party wins parliamentary elections and wins a record 53 seats



Kathmandu: Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba’s ruling Nepal Congress has emerged as the largest party in Nepal’s parliamentary elections, winning 53 seats in the results revealed so far. 165 seats of the 275 members of the country’s House of Representatives are directly elected while the remaining 110 seats are elected by proportional representation. Elections to the House of Representatives and seven provincial assemblies took place on 20 November. The counting of votes began on Monday.

The Nepalese Congress alone won 53 seats under the direct voting system, while the Communist Party of Nepal (UML) won 42 seats. Also, the CPN-Maoist Center became the third largest party by winning 17 seats while the CPN-Unified Socialist won 10 seats. The newly formed Rashtriya Swatantra Party and Rashtriya Prajatantra Party won seven seats each. Independent candidates and other small parties won 21 seats. Out of 165 seats, the results of eight are yet to come.

Read this also- Gujarat Election: Brother BJP and sister are campaigning for Congress, would like to know who is the star activist?

The ruling five-party coalition won 85 seats, while the CPN-UML-led alliance won 55. Besides Nepal’s Prime Minister and Congress President Deuba, three former prime ministers Prachanda, Oli and Madhav Nepal won 55 seats. also been elected to Parliament.

Tag: Nepal, Nepal Politics, Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba