Connect with us


Nepal: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal wins overwhelming majority in parliament, wins support of 272 MPs out of 274



Kathmandu: After changing the dramatic political equation in Nepal, Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal today won Parliament’s vote of confidence. Pushpa Kamal Dahal Prachanda, who became Prime Minister with the support of the Communist Party of Nepal UML, today won the vote of confidence by a large majority with the support of other parties including the opposition Nepalese Congress. Prachanda, who broke the electoral alliance with Nepal’s Congress and formed the government with Oli’s backing, had met Congress party chairman and incumbent Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuva on the eve of the confidence vote and told him urged to vote for the vote of confidence. The Nepalese Congress had decided to back Prachanda even before the vote at home today.

unopposed nepalese parliament
Commenting on this Congress decision, KP Oli, the main constituent of the government, told parliament that the parliament was now unopposed. Welcoming the decision to vote for the government, Oli thanked Deuva but said if Congress had another strategy behind it, then it was serious business.

read this too – Emergency in California! Biden Announcement – People Expected To Leave Area Soon, What Happened In America After All?

272 MP supported on 275
In the vote of confidence, Deuva, Oli and Prime Minister Prachanda also mocked the dissolution of parliament. But Prachanda has the support of 272 MPs in the 275 Houses of Representatives. Only two MPs voted in opposition, while one Congress MP was unable to vote due to suspension.

Only two MPs against Prachanda
Prachanda’s party has 38 MPs in the House of Representatives which is the largest party, Nepal Congress has 89 MPs, NCP NML has 78 MPs, Rashtriya Swatantra Party has 20 MPs, Rashtriya Prajatantra Party has 14 MPs, Janata Samajwadi Party has 12 MPs, Janmat Party has 12 MPs. The support of 6 MPs, 4 MPs from the Loktantrik Samajwadi party, 4 MPs from the Civil Liberation Party and 3 independent MPs was received. There are 1 against 1 MPs from the Nepali Party Mazdoor Kisan and Rashtriya Jan Morcha who voted against.

Tag: Nepal, Nepal Politics